Finally here! 到了上海!

14 Jun

So it’s 4:30 AM and I cannot sleep at all. I had to force myself for half of the night. My flight got in around 7PM and let me tell you, it is torture to ride on an airplane for almost a whole day and night. The worst part is that I have a cold, so I had to blow my nose every 20minutes for 17 hours. Not to mention that from the pressure of the airplane, I lost hearing in my right ear for a while after arriving. Never sit in a window seat on a flight like that because there are two people blocking your exit to the bathrooms and to stretch, and you have to wake them up and tell them to move numerous times. In my case, there was a Taiwanese couple next to me. Both were a little overweight for Asians and they made out almost the whole time! Yay.

Anyways, I am not really in a bad mood, just had a bad flight. After the plane landed, I took the shuttle bus from the airport to Wu JiaoChang (5 ways square.) This place is huge and the streets are lined with shops and small restaurants. After I got off of the bus, I had to walk about 20 minutes to my dorm. The only problem was that I didn’t know which way it was. Lucky for me, I am an outstanding guesser and ended up walking right to it. I thought I was going to have to get a hotel room for the night since the official move in wasn’t until the next day, so I went into every little side street searching for a place. I found a couple, but from what my broken Chinese determined, only Chinese people could stay in these hotels. I’m a little rusty and need to review. All I could say to them was 我要睡觉 or “I want to sleep”. Haha. Anyways, after being turned away from three “hotels”, I started to walk back. While I was doing so, I saw some American students along the way. Lucky me! I asked them where I could stay the night, and found out that they are staying in the same apartments that I was supposed to be in the next day. They ended up taking me there and I was able to move in early and they only charged me 95 kuai for the extra night. These apartments are very nice and everything seems to be new.

It’s been raining nonstop since I got here, and the forecast says rain all week. I guess Rochester’s weather isn’t much better, so I’ll have to deal. Tomorrow (Today) I have nothing planned until around 6:15, when everyone else will be arriving, so I will take it as a good chance to get to know my surroundings and find some 好吃。

Leave a Reply

