Insanity

20 Jun

So I’m going to write this really fast and probably mess up a lot of grammar, but I really need to get to studying for class tomorrow. We learn like 20 new words per day and I was really lucky to have known about half of them already today. Our first class went pretty well, I think it is hard but also very interesting. The teachers talk slow enough for us to understand, which is good because most Chinese people talk way too fast. We have about 5 hours of class per day with a lunch break in between. 5 hours of Chinese hurts my head, but its worth it. It builds character.

 

I don’t know if I should name people I know yet because most people who read this won’t know them, but me and my friend went to Wal-Mart after class to buy some cooking stuff so we could make dinner sometimes. We were there for like 2 hours, not counting the half hour each way it takes to walk there and back. That’s a lot of time to spend at Wal-Mart but at least we got everything we needed for awhile and now know where everything in the store is.

When we got back, we cooked a full course meal. I would’ve taken a picture of it but it was just so good it literally disappeared off of our plates before I could. We made our own dumplings (Jiao Zi) with ground pork, garlic, and green onions on the inside. We probably cooked them for a little too long but they still came out really good. For the main dish we made a beef, garlic, and bok choy stir fry with some Sichuan pepper salt stuff on top. In my opinion, that was the most tasty part of the meal. For the vegetable part we made some steamed purple sweet potatoes and bok shoy with some cinnamon on the potatoes. Hen Hao Chi!

We found out that making food takes up a lot of time, so we probably won’t do it too much even though it saves money and tastes just as good if not better than the restaurants. It’s just hard to make food and find time to study for our classes.

Ahh!

I need to sleep early one of these nights. I keep telling myself I’m going to go to sleep early, but any college student knows how that works out.

Leave a Reply

