Allergy Troubles – 过敏=麻烦。

22 Jul

This post will also be in Chinese!!!

If you know me, you know I am allergic to almost everything. In China, this is a problem. One of my most prominent allergies is to soy sauce and here they put soy sauce in everything. I often eat out at restaurants in China because 1: I don’t have much time to cook my own food and 2: the cost of eating out every night is so cheap that it is worth it. Here you can buy beef and noodles for about 10 kuai at an expensive place. 10 kuai is less than 2 dollars. I usually buy an all meat an vegetable meal though, so that costs about 30 kuai which is still only $4 compared to a $12 steak meal back home.

The fist thing I did before and after I came to China is to look up how to say and read all the things that I am allergic to (not an easy task.) At these restaurants I generally tell the waiter that I cannot eat these things and she usually either says ok or I have to order something else form the menu. Even though I tell them not to put these things in, I think there is still contamination from sharing the cooking surfaces or they do not know exactly what has or doesn’t have that stuff in it.

Today I am going to see a Chinese medicine doctor. My teacher gave me a list of all these legitimate shops and places where I can get treated for my allergies. I actually already have a list of herbs and stuff that I will buy. I found this list when I was searching for studies on Chinese medicine curing allergies. Apparently there is currently a study being done in America that has had success using these herbs.

I also want to get accupuncture. Chinese medicine could work for me, who knows. Many Chinese people believe it is better than western medicine. In some ways, it could be true. They have a much longer medicine history than we do.

要是你已经认识我,你知道我有很多过敏。所以我觉得我每天都吃过敏的东西。我的身体变越来越不舒服。我的肚子常常不舒服。在饭馆我告诉服务员别放酱油麻油,等等,可是我觉得他们还放。可能他们不知道怎么别放,或者不知道什么是酱油等等因为很多的东西有酱油。。。以前我常常去饭馆吃饭,可是我觉得我最好自己做饭。我可以学怎么做很多中国菜就成一个大厨,哈哈。我已经学到做孜然牛肉和辣的包菜,很好吃!

今天我会去东南京路买中药。我的同学的室友很客气因为她会陪我去。我得买很多药的东西。我希望这个药可以让我的身体最好,可是不让我花太多钱。

Leave a Reply

